JdM authors shortlisted, 2023 NSW Premier’s Literary Awards


We are thrilled and delighted to see three JdM authors shortlisted in the 2023 NSW Premier’s Literary Awards!

Thirty-five judges considered a record 850+ original works across 11 categories. A total of $350,000 in prize money will be awarded when the winners are announced at the State Library on Monday 22 May, making these the richest state-funded literary awards in the country.

Our authors represented across three categories, are;

Christina Stead Prize for Fiction
Every Version of You by Grace Chan (Affirm Press)

About the novel, judges’ said; “An elegant exploration of a collapsing world and its reliance on quick-fix technology for those who can afford it, this novel portrays evolving forms of labour, leisure, relationship and resistance, shadowed by environmental, bodily and mental illness. It is complex, moving and beautifully observed.

Patricia Wrightson Prize for Children’s Literature
Zadie Ma and the Dog Who Chased the Moon by Gabrielle Wang (Penguin Random House Australia)

Judge’s comments for Wang were; “This story’s beauty is enhanced by the relationships within Zadie’s family as well as her friendships with the unique character of Sparrow, a new child at school. At its core, Zadie’s story is about the ties that bind and the strength of community during the most testing of times.

Ethel Turner Prize for Young People’s Literature
Completely Normal (and Other Lies) by Biffy James (Hardie Grant Children’s Publishing)

On James’ novel, judges note; “Biffy James keenly observes teen life, often with humour and stinging precision … Tender and honest, Completely Normal (and Other Lies) is an acutely drawn and sensitive exploration of mental health, toxic relationships, grief, love and resilience that will resonate with young adult readers.”

We wish everyone on the shortlist hearty congratulations, and our own authors the very best of luck!

Author: Grace Chan and Biffy James

2023 NSW Premier’s Literary Awards

JdM authors shortlisted, 2023 NSW Premier’s Literary Awards