Jacinta Dimase Literary Agent Melbourne

Clare Wright's 'The Forgotten Rebels of Eureka' shorlisted for the NSW Premier’s History Awards

August 15, 2014

We are thrilled to announce that Stella Prize Winner, Clare Wright, has been shortlisted for the NSW Premier’s History Awards for The Forgotten Rebels of Eureka. We would also like to congratulate the other shortlisted authors in this section: Joan Beaumont, Ian Clark and Fred Cahir.


Shortlists announced for 2014 NSW Premier’s History Awards 11/8/2014

The Premier of NSW, the Honourable Mike Baird MP today [Monday 11 August] announced the shortlist for the 2014 NSW Premier’s History Awards. Eight judges considered almost 150 entries across the five prize categories. The Premier commented: “This year’s World War One commemorations are a time to reflect upon our nation’s involvement in the war and a reminder of the importance of the work of historians in marking and understanding our nation’s past.”


Australian History Prize
Judges: Professor Richard Waterhouse (Chair), Dr Caroline Butler-Bowdon, Associate Professor James Curran and Dr Jennifer Lawless.
• Broken Nation, Joan Beaumont (Allen & Unwin)
• The Aboriginal Story of Burke and Wills: Forgotten Narratives, edited by Ian Clark and Fred Cahir (CSIRO Publishing)
• The Forgotten Rebels of Eureka, Clare Wright (Text Publishing)

To read the full media release, shortlist and judges’ reports please visit the NSW Premier’s History Awards website here

Authors: Clare Wright